People

A

Athena Abadilla

Student Life Coordinator and Residence Hall Director
athena.abadilla@cooper.edu

Loujaina Abdelwahed

Assistant Professor of Economics
212.353.4275 | Loujaina.Abdelwahed@cooper.edu

Esther Adaire

Adjunct Instructor
212.353.4273 | esther.adaire@cooper.edu

Dennis Adams

Professor
212.353.4027 | dadams@cooper.edu

Wayne Adams

Senior Director of Academic Computing & Support
212.353.4194 | wayne.adams@cooper.edu

Om Agrawal

Professor
Chair of Mathematics
212.353.4311 | om.agrawal@cooper.edu

Diana Agrest

The Irwin S. Chanin Chair
212.353.4220 | agrest@cooper.edu

Nora Akawi

Assistant Professor
212.353.4220 | nora.akawi@cooper.edu

Zinoviy Akkerman

Adjunct Professor
zinoviy.akkerman@cooper.edu

Adelya Aksanova

Academic Support Technician: Media Lab
212.353.4216 | adelya.aksanova@cooper.edu

Irene Aldridge

Adjunct Professor
irene.aldridge@cooper.edu

Hala Alkasm

Director of International Student and Scholar Services
212.353.4192 | hala.alkasm@cooper.edu

Alexis Almeida

Writing Associate

Alheli Alvarado-Diaz

Adjunct Assistant Professor
212.353.4273 | alheli.alvaradodiaz@cooper.edu

Daisy Ames

Visiting Professor II
212.353.4220

Marina Ancona

Adjunct Instructor
212.353.4200

Tensae Andargachew

Adjunct Professor
tensae.andargachew@cooper.edu

Samuel Anderson

Professor Adjunct
212.353.4220 | anderson@cooper.edu

Tim Anderson

Adjunct Instructor
tanderso@cooper.edu

Albert Appleton

Senior Fellow with the Institute for Sustainble Design

Benjamin Aranda

Assistant Professor
212.353.4220 | baranda@cooper.edu

Joaquin Arias

Maintenance
212.353.4160 | joaquin.arias@cooper.edu

Andrew Arnold

Managing Editor
212.353.4169 | aarnold@cooper.edu

Doug Ashford

Professor
Academic Advisor
212.353.4019 | doug.ashford@cooper.edu

Colleen Asper

Adjunct Instructor
212.353.4200 | asper@cooper.edu

Tulay Atak

Associate Professor Adjunct
212.353.4220 | tatak@cooper.edu

Erieta Attali

Assistant Professor Adjunct
212.353.4220

Nada Ayad

Associate Dean
212.353.4302 | Nada.Ayad@cooper.edu

Zulaikha Ayub

Assistant Professor Adjunct
212.353.4220

  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.