People

L

Andrew Lampert

Adjunct Instructor
alampert@cooper.edu

Mindy Lang

Creative Director
212.353.4212, 212.353.4210 | lang@cooper.edu

Alexander Langstaff

Adjunct Instructor
Alexander.Langstaff@cooper.edu

Yve Laris Cohen

Adjunct Instructor
yve@cooper.edu

Scott Larner

Assistant Director of Database Operations
212.353.4175 | slarner@cooper.edu

Karl LaRocca

Adjunct Instructor
212.353.4200

Heidi Lau

Technical Assistant - Printmaking
212.353.4235

Martin Lawless

Visiting Professor
lawles@cooper.edu

Marcus Lay

Associate Professor of Chemistry
212.353.4375 | mlay@cooper.edu

Grace Lee

Accounting Specialist
212.353.4162 | glee@cooper.edu

Cristobal Lehyt

Assistant Professor
212.353.4200 | cristoballehyt@gmail.com

Troy Leinster

Instructor

Lawrence Lennon

Adjunct Professor, Benjamin Menschel Visiting Professor in Engineering
212.542.6040 | llennon@mtahq.org

Liz Leon

Administrative Associate: Chemistry, Chemical & Electrical Engineering Departments
212.353.4370 | leon2@cooper.edu

Kevin Leonard

Adjunct Professor
Co-Head Technician, Art & Architecture Shop
212.353.4234 | kevin.leonard78@gmail.com

Daniel H. Lepek

Associate Professor of Chemical Engineering
212.353.4379 | lepek@cooper.edu

Barry Lewis

Instructor

Emma Lieber

Adjunct Assistant Professor
elieber@cooper.edu

Fuchiawen Lien

Adjunct Assistant Professor
flien@cooper.edu

Dana Liljegren

Adjunct Instructor
liljegre@cooper.edu

Eric Lima

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Director The Open-Source Hardware Laboratory
212.353.4029 | lima2@cooper.edu

Stephanie Lin

Adjunct Assistant Professor
212.353.4220 | slin@cooper.edu

Pam Lins

Adjunct Professor
212.353.4200 | plins718@earthlink.net

Simon Liu

Adjunct Instructor
212.353.4200

Richard Lo

Adjunct Professor
lo@cooper.edu

Fernando Loffredo

Adjunct Instructor
loffredo@cooper.edu

Marget Long

Senior Academic Support Technician
212.353.4034 | long@cooper.edu

Farzin Lotfi-Jam

Assistant Professor Adjunct

Gerald Love

Maintenance
212.353.4160

James Lowder

Assistant Professor Adjunct
212.353.4220 | lowder@cooper.edu

Sarah Lowengard

Adjunct Associate Professor
212.353.4273 | loweng@cooper.edu

Dirk Martin Luchtenburg

Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering
212.353.4310 | dluchten@cooper.edu

John Lundberg

Associate Director, Center for Writing
212.353.4280 | lundberg@cooper.edu

Ellen Lupton

Instructor

  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.