People

L

Mindy Lang

Creative Director
212.353.4212, 212.353.4210 | lang@cooper.edu

Doron Langberg

Alex Katz Chair in Painting (Fall 2021)

Alexander Langstaff

Adjunct Instructor
Alexander.Langstaff@cooper.edu

Brian Frost LaPlante

Adjunct Professor
brian.frost-laplante@cooper.edu

Yve Laris Cohen

Adjunct Instructor
yve@cooper.edu

Scott Larner

Assistant Director of Database Operations
212.353.4175 | scott.larner@cooper.edu

Karl LaRocca

Adjunct Instructor
212.353.4200

Adelya Latifulina

Academic Support Technician: Media Lab
212.353.4216 | adelya.aksanova@cooper.edu

Roberta Lee

Administrative Manager to the Dean of the School of Art
212.353.4268 | roberta.lee@cooper.edu

Grace Lee

Senior Accountant
212.353.4162 | glee@cooper.edu

Cynthia Lee

Assistant Professor of Civil Engineering
212.353.4315 | cynthia.lee@cooper.edu

Cristobal Lehyt

Assistant Professor
212.353.4200 | cristoballehyt@gmail.com

Troy Leinster

Instructor

Lawrence Lennon

Adjunct Professor, Benjamin Menschel Visiting Professor in Engineering
646.866.8670 | llennon@mtahq.org

Elizabeth Leon

Administrative Associate
212.353.4370 | liz.leon@cooper.edu

Kevin Leonard

Adjunct Professor
Head Technician, Art & Architecture Shop
212.353.4234 | kevin.leonard78@gmail.com

Daniel H. Lepek

Professor of Chemical Engineering
212.353.4379 | daniel.lepek@cooper.edu

Samantha Levin

Part-Time Librarian
samantha.levin@cooper.edu

Judy Li

AACE Lab Support Technician
judy.li@cooper.edu

Fuchiawen Lien

Adjunct Assistant Professor
flien@cooper.edu

Eric Lima

Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Director, The Open-Source Hardware Laboratory
Distinguished Professor in Bioengineering
212.353.4029 | eric.lima@cooper.edu

Simon Liu

Adjunct Instructor
212.353.4200

Richard Lo

Adjunct Professor
richard.lo@cooper.edu

Mae-ling Lokko

Assistant Professor Adjunct
212.353.4220

Elizabeth London

Counselor
elizabeth.london@cooper.edu

Marget Long

Manager, The Paul Laux Digital Architecture Studio
Adjunct Instructor, School of Art
212.353.4320 | marget.long@cooper.edu

Gerald Love

Maintenance
212.353.4160 | gerald.love@cooper.edu

James Lowder

Assistant Professor
212.353.4220 | lowder@cooper.edu

Sarah Lowengard

Adjunct Associate Professor
212.353.4273 | loweng@cooper.edu

Dirk Martin Luchtenburg

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering
212.353.4310 | dirk.luchtenburg@cooper.edu

John Lundberg

Associate Director, Center for Writing
212.353.4280 | lundberg@cooper.edu

Ellen Lupton

Instructor

  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.