The campus remains closed with all summer courses being conducted online and staff working remotely. Classes will resume on August 31, 2020 for the fall semester. For updates on campus operations, both virtual and in person, for the fall semester, please see the Fall 2020 Info Hub page.

People

W

Sara Wade

Instructor, Continuing Education

Buck Wanner

Writing Associate
buck.wanner@cooper.edu

Nat Ward

Adjunct Instructor
212.353.4200

Elizabeth Waters

Associate Director, STEM Outreach
212.353.4307 | elizabeth.waters@cooper.edu

Emily Waters

Adjunct Instructor

Chih-Shing (Stan) Wei

Professor (retired)
212.353.4299 | swei@cooper.edu

Andrew Weinstein

Adjunct Associate Professor
212.353.4273 | weinst@cooper.edu

David Weir

Professor Emeritus of Comparative Literature
212.353.4275 | weir@cooper.edu

Jennifer Weiser

Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering
212.353.4387 | jennifer.weiser@cooper.edu

Charlotte Wessell

Director of the Office of the President and Board Relations Secretary of the Board of Trustees
212.353.4252 | cwessell@cooper.edu

Amy Westpfahl

Director of Admissions for Art and Architecture
Adjunct Instructor
212.353.4036 | amy.westpfahl@cooper.edu

Christina Weyl

Adjunct Assistant Professor
cweyl@cooper.edu

Frank Wibowo

Frankie's Kitchen
212.353.4032

Samuel Wiener

Adjunct Professor
samuel.wiener@cooper.edu

Andrew Wilhelm

Adjunct Professor
Technical Assistant, Art & Architecture Shop
212.353.4234 | sngldbltrpl@hotmail.com

Jennifer Williams

Adjunct Professor
Head Photography Technician
212.353.4236 | willia@cooper.edu

Paul Williams

Maintenance
212.353.4160 | paul.williams@cooper.edu

Jonathan Bruce Williams

Instructor

Alan N. Wolf

Professor
Chair of Physics
212.353.4314 | awolf.physics@gmail.com

Jolie Woodson

Director, Center for Career Development
212.353.4112 | jolie@cooper.edu

David M. Wootton

Professor of Mechanical Engineering
212.353.4393 | david.wootton@cooper.edu

Xiaoxiao Wu

Instructor Adjunct
212.353.4220

James Wylie

Adjunct Assistant Professor
212.353.4273

  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.