Campus update: While we've worked hard to preserve the possibility that students could return, the remainder of the spring semester will be conducted online. Staff will work remotely until at least April 20. See the Coronavirus / COVID-19 Updates page.

People

Library

Samantha Berman

Assistant to the Library Director
212.353.4185 | sberman@cooper.edu

Katie Blumenkrantz

Assistant Librarian (Cooper Archives)
212.353.4184 | blumenkr@cooper.edu

Julie Castelluzzo

Librarian (Electronic Services / Electrical Engineering / Computer Science)
212.353.4178 | juliec@cooper.edu

Michael Gundert

Library Clerk (Part Time)
212.353.4188

Claire P. Gunning

Librarian (Art/ Architecture / Circulation / Interlibrary Loan)
212.353.4189 | gunning@cooper.edu

Samantha Levin

Part-Time Librarian
samantha.levin@cooper.edu

Lisa Norberg

Acting Director of the Library
212.353.4187 | lisa.norberg@cooper.edu

Dale Perreault

Senior Library Technician
212.353.4188 | perrea@cooper.edu

Raymond Solga

Part-Time Librarian
raymond.solga@cooper.edu

Nicole Tominaga

Part-Time Librarian
nicole.tominaga@cooper.edu

  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.