Academic Calendars

The Cooper Union for The Advancement of Science and Art operates within a two semester calendar (fall and spring). Most classes are scheduled Monday through Friday between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m. We offer a limited summer session with courses typically provided in Math, Physics, and Engineering. See building hours for when buildings are open.

2021 – 2022

Add the 2021 – 2022 academic calendar to your calendar app

Thursday, Aug 5 Student Bill Due Date  
Tues, Aug 24 - Sun, Aug 29 New Student Welcome Week  
Mon, Aug 30 Fall 2021 Semester Begins  
Mon, Aug 30 - Tues, Sep 7 Course Adjustment Period Students can add/drop courses with advisor assistance
Mon, Sep 6 Labor Day Offices and Classrooms are closed
Tues, Sep 7 Course Add/Drop Deadline Last day to add/drop courses.  Last day to take leave of absence or fully withdraw from School and receive full tuition and fees refund. 
Tues, Sep 14 Fall Festival - Welcome Event 12:00PM - 2:00PM EST
Offices and Classrooms are open
Mon, Oct 11 Outstanding Student Bills Due and Account Hold Hold placed on student records preventing future course registration and/or release of transcript pending payment
Wed, Oct 27 Last Day to withdraw from classes  
Tues, Nov 16 - Mon, Nov 22 Registration for Spring 2022 classes All students must have advisor approval in order to register
Tues, Nov 23 MODIFIED SCHEDULE THURSDAY classes meet
Wed, Nov 24 MODIFIED SCHEDULE FRIDAY classes meet
Thurs, Nov 25 - Fri, Nov 26 Thanksgiving Holiday Offices and Classrooms are closed
Mon, Nov 29 Classes Resume  
Thurs, Dec 9 - Fri, Dec 10 Study Period No Classes
Mon, Dec 13 - Fri, Dec 17 Final Classes, crits and exams Students meet in regularly assigned rooms at regular times
Fri, Dec 17 End of Fall term Last day of the fall 2021 term
Mon, Dec 20 - Sun, Jan 16 Winter Recess All schools closed
Wed, Dec 22 - Sun, Jan 2 Staff Holiday  
Mon, Jan 3 Administrative Offices Re-open All grades due to the Office of the Registrar before noon (12PM)
Wednsday, Jan 5 Spring 2022 Bill Due Date  
Mon, Jan 17 Martin Luther King Jr. Birthday Staff Holiday
Tues, Jan 18 Spring 2022 Semester begins Spring semester begins.  MONDAY classes meet
Tues, Jan 18 - Tues, Jan 25 Course Adjustment Period Students can add/drop courses with advisor assistance
Tues, Jan 25 Course Add/Drop Deadline Last day to add/drop courses.  Last day to take leave of absence or fully withdraw from School and receive full tuition and fees refund.  Advisors and School Offices are informed as to how to handle Tuesday evening courses.
Wed, Feb 9 MODIFIED SCHEDULE FRIDAY classes meet
Fri, Feb 18 - Mon, Feb 21 Founder's Day/President's Day Classrooms and office closed
Fri, Mar 11 Outstanding Student Bills Due and Account Hold Hold placed on student records preventing future course registration and/or release of transcript pending payment
Sat, Mar 12 - Sun, Mar 20 Spring Recess No Classes.  Administrative offices remain open
Tues, Mar 22 Last Day to withdrawn from classes  
Tues, Apr 19 - Fri, Apr 22 Course Registration for Summer 2022 and Fall 2022 Registration into Summer and Fall semester courses.  All students must have advisor approval in order to register
Thurs, May 5 - Fri, May 6 Study Period No classes
Mon, May 9 - Fri, May 13 Final classes, crits, and exams Students meet in regularly assigned rooms at regular times
Fri, May 13 Last day of spring 2022 semester  
Mon, May 16 Senior Grades due Senior grades due in Office of the Registrar before noon (12PM)
Wed, May 18 All non-senior grades due All non-senior grades due in Office of the Registrar before noon (12PM)
Tues, May 24 Commencement Rehearsal Time TBD
Tues, May 24 End of Year Show Opening The annual student exhibition opening begins at 5PM
Wed, May 25 Commencement  
Mon, May 30 Memorial Day Classrooms and office closed
Fri, Jun 17 Juneteenth Observed Classrooms and office closed
Mon, Jul 4 Independence Day Classrooms and office closed
  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.