People

S

Carl Sable

Professor of Computer Engineering
212.353.4336 | carl.sable@cooper.edu

Paul Sahre

Instructor

Michael Samuelian

Assistant Professor Adjunct
212.353.4220 | samuel@cooper.edu

Melvin Sandler

Professor Emeritus
eldad@cooper.edu

Julio Santillana

Chief Engineer
212.353.4160 | julios@cooper.edu

John Sarich

Adjunct Associate Professor
212.353.4273 | jsarich@cooper.edu

Christine Sarkissian

Manager, Rental Programs
212.353.4196 | sarkis@cooper.edu

Gail Satler

Adjunct Associate Professor
212.353.4273 | gsatler@cooper.edu

Ruben Savizky

Acting Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Professor
212.353.4372 | ruben.savizky@cooper.edu

Sohnya Sayres

Associate Professor
212.353.4217 | sayres@cooper.edu

Leeore Schnairsohn

Writing Associates
schnairs@cooper.edu

Matthew Schrader

Adjunct Instructor
212.353.4200 | schrader@cooper.edu

Catherine Seavitt Nordenson

Associate Professor Adjunct

Michelle Segre

Adjunct Professor
212.353.4200 | michellesegre@gmail.com

Lidia Serrano

Adjunct Assistant Professor
lserrano@cooper.edu

Mili Shah

Associate Professor
212.353.4306 | mili.shah@cooper.edu

Fred Shallcrass

Instructor
fred@frerejones.com

Monica Shapiro

Academic Administrator
212.353.4220 | mshapiro@cooper.edu

Omar A. Sharafeddin

Adjunct Professor
omarsharafeddin@yahoo.com

Brandee Sharma

Program Coordinator, STEM Outreach
212.353.4288 | brandee.sharma@cooper.edu

Lisa A. Shay

Associate Dean for Educational Innovation
Professor
212.353.4309 | Lisa.Shay@cooper.edu

Jeffrey Sherman

Adjunct Instructor
jeffrey.sherman@cooper.edu

Sheng Shi

Assistant Professor Adjunct
212.353.4220 | shis@cooper.edu

Yasu Shibata

Adjunct Professor
212.353.4200 | yshibata@cooper.edu

Kang Shih

Adjunct Instructor
kang.shih@cooper.edu

Brigitte Shim

Feltman Chair

Inessa Shkolnikov

Design Director
212.353.4213, 212.353.4210 | inessa@cooper.edu

Neveen Shlayan

Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering
212.353.4333 | neveen.shlayan@cooper.edu

Barry L. Shoop

Dean
Professor of Electrical Engineering
212.353.4290 | barry.shoop@cooper.edu

George W. Sidebotham

Professor of Mechanical Engineering
212.353.4308 | sidebo@cooper.edu

Fred Siegel

Professor Emeritus of History

Judith Simonian

Instructor

Amanda Simson

Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering
212.353.4373 | amanda.simson@cooper.edu

Rosa Singamenggala

Frankie's Kitchen
212.353.4032

Lucy Siyao Liu

Assistant Professor Adjunct

Beth Slack

Administrative Associate
212.353.4287 | beth.slack@cooper.edu

Robert Smilowitz

Adjunct Professor
212.353.4292 | robert.smilowitz@wai.com

Austin Wade Smith

Adjunct Instructor
awsmith@cooper.edu

Robert W. Smyth

Professor of Mathematics
212.353.4395 | robert.smyth@cooper.edu

Ksenia Soboleva

Adjunct Instructor
soboleva@cooper.edu

Claudia Sohrens

Adjunct Instructor
212.353.4200 | info@claudiasohrens.com

Eugene Sokolov

Adjunct Instructor
eugene.sokolov@cooper.edu

Raymond Solga

Part-Time Librarian
raymond.solga@cooper.edu

Dax Sommerfeld

Technical Assistant - Art & Architecture Shop
212.353.4234 | dax.sommerfeld@cooper.edu

Laura Sparks

President
212.353.4240 | lsparks@cooper.edu

Erin Sparling

Adjunct Professor
212.353.4200

Avra Spector

Adjunct Instructor
212.353.4218 | aspector@cooper.edu

Daniel M. Speyer

Adjunct Professor
212.353.4301 | daniel.speyer@cooper.edu

Evan Spritzer

Adjunct Assistant Professor
spritzer@cooper.edu

Christina M. Squitieri

Adjunct Instructor
squitier@cooper.edu

Leonid Srubshchik

Adjunct Professor
lss2@cooper.edu

Liza St. James

Writing Associate
Liza.StJames@cooper.edu

Angela Starita

Senior Writer
212.353.4157 | astarita@cooper.edu

Margaret Steward

Business Intelligence Developer
212.353.4358 | maggi.steward@cooper.edu

Danielle Stewart

Adjunct Instructor
dstewart@cooper.edu

Mary Stieber

Professor
212.353.4394 | stiebe@cooper.edu

Keith Stokeld

Controller
212.353.4152 | kstokeld@cooper.edu

Mackenzie Stroh

Adjunct Instructor
212.353.4200 | mstroh@cooper.edu

Maggie Sullivan

Night Monitor - Painting/Drawing

Wayne Sunday

Library Circulation Clerk (Part Time)
212.353.4188

Brian Swann

Professor
212.353.4279 | swann@cooper.edu

Thomas Synnott, III

Adjunct Professor
212.353.4301 | synnott@cooper.edu

Kent Szlauderbach

Writing Associates
szlauder@cooper.edu

Kent Szlauderbach

Writing Associate
szlauder@cooper.edu

  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.