People

Civil Engineering

Leo Argiris

Adjunct Professor
Civil Engineering

Dong Chang

Adjunct Professor
Civil Engineering
dong.chang@cooper.edu

Ketan Dodhia

Adjunct Professor
ketan.dodhia@cooper.edu

Yara Elborolosy

Adjunct Professor
Civil Engineering

Ostap Gladoun

Adjunct Professor
Civil Engineering
Ostap.Gladoun@cooper.edu

Adam Hapij

Adjunct Professor
Civil Engineering
adam.hapij@cooper.edu

Matthew Keusch

Adjunct Professor
Civil Engineering
matthew.keusch@cooper.edu

Cynthia Lee

Assistant Professor of Civil Engineering
212.353.4315 | cynthia.lee@cooper.edu

Lawrence Lennon

Adjunct Professor, Benjamin Menschel Visiting Professor in Engineering
Civil Engineering
646.866.8670 | llennon@mtahq.org

Gary Marcus

Adjunct Professor
Civil Engineering
gary.marcus@cooper.edu

Jeremy Moon

Adjunct Professor
Civil Engineering
jeremy.moon@cooper.edu

Keith Ng

Systems Engineer
Adjunct Professor
Civil Engineering
212.353.4356 | keith.ng@cooper.edu

Alfonso Oliva

Adjunct Professor
Civil Engineering
alfonso.oliva@cooper.edu

Tom Panayotidi

Adjunct Professor
Civil Engineering

Robert Smilowitz

Adjunct Professor
robert.smilowitz@wai.com

Tom Syku

Adjunct Professor
Civil Engineering
tom.syku@cooper.edu

Cosmas Tzavelis

Professor of Civil Engineering
George Fox Chair of Civil Engineering
212.353.4297 | cosmas.tzavelis@cooper.edu

Joseph Viola

Adjunct Professor
Civil Engineering
joseph.viola@cooper.edu

Constantine Yapijakis

Professor of Civil Engineering
Environmental Research Lab Director
212.353.4296 | yapi@cooper.edu

  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.