People

Mechanical Engineering

Melody Baglione

Professor
George Clark Chair of Mechanical Engineering
212.353.4295 | melody.baglione@cooper.edu

Michael Bambino

Adjunct Instructor
michael.bambino@cooper.edu

Robert Barrett

Adjunct Professor
robert.barrett@cooper.edu

Scott N. Bondi

Adjunct Professor
scott.bondi@cooper.edu

Wallace Chinitz

Professor Emeritus

Brian Cusack

Director of Campus Enterprise Applications
Adjunct Professor, Albert Nerken School of Engineering
212.353.4359 | brian.cusack@cooper.edu

Robert Dell

Adjunct Professor
ASME Fellow
robert.dell@cooper.edu

Daniel Fishkin

Adjunct Professor
daniel.fishkin@cooper.edu

Michael Giglia

Mechanical/Electrical Engineering Technician
Adjunct Instructor
212.353.4327 | michael.giglia@cooper.edu

Sven Haverkamp

Adjunct Professor
212.353.4301 | sven.haverkamp@cooper.edu

Radmila Janjusevic

Biomedical Engineering Laboratory Technician
Student Project Coordinator
Adjunct Professor
212.353.4326 | radmila.janjusevic@cooper.edu

Lembit Kutt

Adjunct Professor
212.353.4301 | lembit.kutt@cooper.edu

Eric Lima

Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Director, The Open-Source Hardware Laboratory
Distinguished Professor in Bioengineering
212.353.4029 | eric.lima@cooper.edu

Dirk Martin Luchtenburg

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering
212.353.4310 | dirk.luchtenburg@cooper.edu

Matthew Mahon

Adjunct Professor
matthew.mahon@cooper.edu

Oliver Medvedik

Director of the Kanbar Center for Biomedical Engineering
212.353.4326 | oliver.medvedik@cooper.edu

Karl Orishimo

Adjunct Professor
karl.orishimo@cooper.edu

Katherine M. Panchyk

Adjunct Professor
212.353.4292 | katherine.panchyk@cooper.edu

David Petrillo

Adjunct Professor
david.petrillo@cooper.edu

Estuardo Rodas

Lab Technician and Project Coordinator, Mechanical Engineering
212.353.4039 | estuardo.rodas@cooper.edu

Michelle Rosen

Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering
212.353.4298 | michelle.rosen@cooper.edu

Julia Sable

Adjunct Professor
Bioengineering
julia.sable@cooper.edu

George W. Sidebotham

Professor of Mechanical Engineering
212.353.4308 | sidebo@cooper.edu

Daniel M. Speyer

Adjunct Professor
Mechanical Engineering
daniel.speyer@cooper.edu

Douglas Thornhill

Laboratory and Technician Manager, School of Engineering
212.353.4323 | douglas.thornhill@cooper.edu

David M. Wootton

Professor of Mechanical Engineering
212.353.4393 | david.wootton@cooper.edu

Kamau Wright

Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering
212.353.4299 | kamau.wright@cooper.edu

Hui (Grace) Yu

Adjunct Instructor
Hui.Yu@cooper.edu

Aaron Zemach

Adjunct Professor
aaron.zemach@cooper.edu

  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.