The campus remains closed with all summer courses being conducted online and staff working remotely. Classes will resume on August 31, 2020 for the fall semester. For updates on campus operations, both virtual and in person, for the fall semester, please see the Fall 2020 Info Hub page.

People

Mathematics

Om Agrawal

Professor
Chair of Mathematics
212.353.4311 | om.agrawal@cooper.edu

Maria Jimenez

Administrative Associate: Math, Physics, Mechanical & Civil Engineering Departments
212.353.4292 | maria.jimenez@cooper.edu

Michael Kumaresan

Adjunct Professor
michael.kumaresan@cooper.edu

Stanislav Mintchev

Associate Professor of Mathematics
212.353.4319 | stanislav.mintchev@cooper.edu

Ryan Ronan

Adjunct Instructor

Mili Shah

Associate Professor of Mathematics
212.353.4306 | mili.shah@cooper.edu

Robert W. Smyth

Professor of Mathematics
212.353.4395 | robert.smyth@cooper.edu

Leonid Vulakh

Professor of Mathematics
212.353.4313 | leonid.vulakh@cooper.edu

  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.