People

Electrical Engineering

Simon Ben-Avi

Professor Emeritus
212.353.4286 | benavi@cooper.edu

Mohammed Billoo

Adjunct Professor
mohammed.billoo@cooper.edu

Ingrid Burrington

Adjunct Professor
ingrid.burrington@cooper.edu

Michael Chen

Adjunct Professor
michael.chen@cooper.edu

Christopher Curro

Adjunct Professor
christopher.curro@cooper.edu

Sean Cusack

Adjunct Professor
sean.cusack@cooper.edu

Fred L. Fontaine

Jesse Sherman Professor of Electrical Engineering
Chair of Electrical Engineering
Director of the Retraining Program for Immigrant Engineers
212.353.4335 | fred.fontaine@cooper.edu

Daniel Gitzel

Adjunct Professor
daniel.gitzel@cooper.edu

Jeff Hakner

Assistant Director of Telecommunications
Adjunct Professor
212.353.4353 | hak@cooper.edu

Lawrence S. Hausman

Adjunct Professor
hausma@cooper.edu

Timothy R. Hoerning

Adjunct Professor
timothy.hoerning@cooper.edu

Christopher Hong

Adjunct Professor
christopher.hong@cooper.edu

Neil Jackman

Adjunct Professor
212.353.4015

Sam Keene

Professor of Electrical Engineering
212.353.4331 | keene@cooper.edu

Stuart Kirtman

Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering
212.353.4339 | stuart.kirtman@cooper.edu

Ralph L. Knapp

Professor Emeritus

Ja-beom "JB" Koo

Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering
jb.koo@cooper.edu

Ian J. Kremenic

Adjunct Professor
ian.kremenic@cooper.edu

Brian Frost LaPlante

Adjunct Professor
brian.frost-laplante@cooper.edu

Ethan Lusterman

Adjunct Professor
Ethan.Lusterman@cooper.edu

Robert Marano

Adjunct Professor
rob@cooper.edu

Aladino Melendez

EE Supervisor, EE Technician
212.353.4346 | dinom@cooper.edu

Shivam Mevawala

Adjunct Professor
mevawa@cooper.edu

Cory Nezin

Adjunct Professor
cory.nezin@cooper.edu; cory.nezin@gmail.com

Nebahat Noyan

Adjunct Professor
nebahat.noyan@cooper.edu

Carl Sable

Professor of Computer Engineering
212.353.4336 | carl.sable@cooper.edu

Melvin Sandler

Professor Emeritus
eldad@cooper.edu

Neveen Shlayan

Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering
212.353.4333 | neveen.shlayan@cooper.edu

Barry L. Shoop

Dean
Professor of Electrical Engineering
212.353.4290 | barry.shoop@cooper.edu

Eugene Sokolov

Adjunct Professor
eugene.sokolov@cooper.edu

Steven Ungar

Adjunct Professor
212.353.4015 | ungar@cooper.edu

  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.