People

Electrical Engineering

Julia Astrauckas

Adjunct Professor
astrau@cooper.edu

Jean Chung

Adjunct Professor

Toby J. Cumberbatch

Professor of Electrical Engineering
(212) 353-4332 | toby@cooper.edu

Christopher Curro

Adjunct Professor
curro@cooper.edu

Sean Cusack

Adjunct Professor
cusack@cooper.edu

Fred L. Fontaine

Jesse Sherman Professor of Electrical Engineering, Chair of Electrical Engineering, Director of the Retraining Program for Immigrant Engineers
212.353.4335 | fred@cooper.edu

Daniel Gitzel

Adjunct Professor
gitzel@cooper.edu

Jeff Hakner

Assistant Director of Telecommunications & Adjunct Professor
212-353-4353 | hak@cooper.edu

Lawrence S. Hausman

Adjunct Professor
hausma@cooper.edu

Timothy R. Hoerning

Adjunct Professor
hoerni@cooper.edu

Christopher Hong

Adjunct Professor
hong3@cooper.edu

Neil Jackman

Adjunct Professor
212-353-4015

Elya Kapelyan

Adjunct Professor
kapelyan@cooper.edu

Henry Kasen

Adjunct Professor
kasen@cooper.edu

Sam Keene

Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering
212.353.4331 | keene@cooper.edu

Stuart Kirtman

Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering
212.353.4339 | sek@cooper.edu

Ralph L. Knapp

Professor Emeritus

Ian J. Kremenic

Adjunct Professor
ian@nismat.org

Liz Leon

Administrative Associate: Chemistry, Chemical & Electrical Engineering Departments
212-353-4370 | leon2@cooper.edu

Aladino Melendez

EE Supervisor, EE Technician
212-353-4346 | dinom@cooper.edu

Shivam Mevawala

Adjunct Professor
mevawa@cooper.edu

Yashodhan C. Risbud

Adjunct Professor
212.353.4307 | risbud@cooper.edu

Carl Sable

Associate Professor of Computer Engineering
212.353.4336 | sable2@cooper.edu

Melvin Sandler

Professor Emeritus
eldad@cooper.edu

Jeffrey Sherman

Adjunct Professor
jsherman@cooper.edu

Neveen Shlayan

Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering
212.353.4333 | nshlayan@cooper.edu

Steven Ungar

Adjunct Professor
212-353-4015 | ungar@cooper.edu

  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.