Spring 2019 Lectures and Exhibitions

LECTURES    
Tuesday, January 15 at 7PM in The Great Hall
Current Work
Design and the Politics of Memory Tuesday, January 22 at 7PM in The Great Hall Contested Ground
Drawing Codes: Experimental Protocols of Architectural Representation, Vol II Tuesday, January 29 at 6PM in The Arthur A. Houghton Jr. Gallery Gallery Roundtable
Jennifer Bonner: Loopty Loops Thursday, January 31 at 6:30PM in Room 315F Visiting Lecture
Tamar Zinguer and Anna Bokov: The New Studio Template Tuesday, February 5 at 12PM in Room 315F In Conversation
Regular City: Construction of Ideas,  Joan Busquets  Thursday, February 7 at 6:30PM in The Great Hall  Exhibition Lecture
Kristof Crolla: The 'More or Less' of Post-Digital Architecture Monday, February 11 at 10AM in the Arthur A. Houghton Jr. Gallery In-Class Lecture
Frank Barkow: ULTRA STRUCTURAL Monday, February 11 at 4PM in the Arthur A. Houghton Jr. Gallery In-Class Lecture
Manuelle Gautrand: Beyond the Program Thursday, February 21 at 6:30PM in Room 315F Visiting Lecture
Gabriel Feld: Building Prints Tuesday, February 26 at 6PM in the Third Floor Hallway Gallery Exhibition Remarks
Jing Liu: Order, Edge, Aura Thursday, February 28 at 6:30PM in Room 315F Student Lecture Series
Farzin Lotfi-Jam and Michael Young: Para-Fictions and Myths Tuesday, March 5 at 12PM in Room 315F In Conversation
David Ruy: Technological Substrata Thursday, March 7 at 12PM in Room 315F Visiting Lecture
Jeannette Kuo  Thursday, March 21 at 6:30PM in Room 315F Student Lecture Series
Alberto Martinez, MAR '16 Friday, March 22 at 6:30PM in Room 315F Student Lecture Series
Victor Lundy: Artist Architect, Donna Kacmar Thursday, March 28 at 6:30PM in Room 315F  Exhibition Lecture
(Anti/Post/De-)Colonialism Friday, March 29 at 6:30PM in the Frederick P. Rose Auditorium Roundtable

An Evening With Torkwase Dyson and Francoise Verges

Tuesday, April 2 at 7PM in The Great Hall Gwathmey Chair Lecture
Ugliness and Judgement: On Architecture in the Public Eye, Timothy Hyde Thursday, April 4 at 6:30PM in Room 315F Visiting Lecture
Espen Vatn, AR '10: Geometry, Structure, and Standards Friday, April 5 at 6:30PM in Room 315F Student Lecture Series
The Arthur and Janet C. Ross Rome Prize Ceremony: Integrity and Public Office featuring Melissa Lane and John Ochsendorf Tuesday, April 9 at 6:30PM in The Great Hall The Rome Prize Ceremony and Conversation
Mark Gage and Michael Meredith in Conversation with Michael Young: Multiple Resolutions Thursday, April 11 at 6:30PM in Room 315F Visiting Lecture
Sunil Bald and Yolande Daniels Friday, April 12 at 6:30PM in Room 315F Visiting Lecture
Samuel Anderson and Nader Tehrani: The Pedagogical Engagement Between the Studio and the Office Tuesday, April 16 at 12PM in Room 315F In Conversation
Leonardo Ricci: Design Investigations on the Question of Dwelling Thursday, April 18 at 6:30PM in Room 315F Exhibition Lecture
Pascal Flammer Friday, April 19 at 6:30PM The Frederick P. Rose Auditorium Student Lecture Series
Barclay & Crousse: Other Tropics Tuesday, April 23 at 7PM in The Great Hall Current Work
EXHIBITIONS  
Joan Busquets | Regular City: Construction of Ideas Past and Future
January 17 through February 8 in the Third Floor Hallway Gallery
Drawing Codes: Experimental Protocols of Architectural Representation, Volume II January 22 through February 23 in the Arthur A. Houghton Jr. Gallery
Gabriel Feld: Building Prints February 19 through March 10 in the Third Floor Hallway Gallery
Victor Lundy: Artist Architect March 18 through April 7 in the Third Floor Hallway Gallery
Torkwase Dyson: I can Drink the Distance March 19 through April 15 in 41 Cooper Square Gallery
Leonardo Ricci: Design Investigations on the Question of Dwelling April 15 through May 3 in the Third Floor Hallway Gallery
  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.