Student Research & Fellowship Opportunities

Nakamise-dori Street and Sensoji Temple, Tokyo, Japan

Yuan (Alice) Meng, Nakamise-dori Street and Sensoji Temple, Tokyo, Japan. William Cooper Mack Thesis Fellowship, 2023-24.

Cappadocia, Turkey

Minghao (William) Du, Cappadocia, Turkey. William Cooper Mack Thesis Fellowship, 2022-23.

Route 66: Amboy, California, USA

Maria Del Carmen Maldonado, Route 66: Amboy, California, USA. William Cooper Mack Thesis Fellowship, 2022-23.

Mount Lovćen Mausoleum, Montenegro

 Nadja Martinovic, Mount Lovćen Mausoleum, Montenegro. William Cooper Mack Thesis Fellowship, 2022-23.

Stamford Bridge Stadium, London, England

Kai Huang, Stamford Bridge Stadium, London, England. William Cooper Mack Thesis Fellowship, 2021-22.

To alleviate the ever-increasing cost of living in New York City, many alumni and benefactors have supported Cooper Union students by establishing named scholarships and fellowships. The income generated by these special funds offers vital support to deserving students.


General Financial Aid Scholarships
Irwin & Lillian Appel; H. Carl Bauman; Robert C. Bosch; Julius Dingenthal; Edward Durbin; Kathleen Gerla; Mindy & Drew Greenwald; Alexander C. Grove; Salvatore & Tina Guzzardi; Julian Hirsch; Marilyn Hoffner; Dr. Peter Kabasakalian; Estelle & Daniel Maggin; Vincent P. Malahan; William H. Okun; Nathan G. Ramer; Michael A. Rampino; Benjamin Reich; Charles Lowery Robertson; William H. Sandholm; Louis Schmidt; Emil Schweinberg; Allen Speiser; The Starr Foundation; Charles Stumpp; Solon E. Summerfield Foundation; Arlene and Irving Tashlick; Clifford Warren; Bert Weinstein.

The Irwin S. Chanin School of Architecture
Gus J.& Helen Condaris; Ismar David; Manuel & Flora Fernandez; John Q. Hejduk; George & Selma Klett; John Loeb & Frances Loeb; Mari Souval Spacedrafting Foundation.


The Art Thomson Thesis Fellowship was established in 2022 to support the development of thesis projects that seek positive social and environmental change by shaping the built and natural environment in the US and around the world. The Fellowship supports informed, original, and critical student thesis propositions that extend beyond graduation to make a significant impact in the field and partake in extended discursive arenas that shape architectural discourse.

The Diane Lewis AR’76 Memorial Architecture Travel Fellowship: In Search of Civic Space is awarded to Cooper Union architecture students for summer travel between their fourth and fifth years. Students focus on a major recurring architectural theme of great importance to Professor Lewis—defining and designing ‘civic space.’

The William Cooper Mack Thesis Fellowship program was established in 2008 by John and Harriet Mack at The Irwin S. Chanin School of Architecture in memory of their son William Cooper Mack AR’06. William Cooper Mack Thesis Fellowships are awarded each year to support primary research and inquiry in the development of significant and original thesis projects.

The IDC Foundation Innovation Fellowship for engineering and architecture students entering their last two semesters before graduation provides a full tuition scholarship plus a $1,000 stipend. The Fellowship is merit-based for students who demonstrate exceptional academic performance and career potential to develop innovative, interdisciplinary solutions to pressing societal needs.

The Palmer Hayden Travel Fellowship supports travel abroad for African American students in art and architecture.


Irma Giustino Weiss Prize, presented for exceptional creative potential in architecture or art, was endowed in 2002 by Cooper Union alumna Irma Giustino Weiss (A’45).

The Toni and David Yarnell Merit Award of Excellence in Architecture, presented to a graduating student who demonstrates exceptional ability and outstanding merit.

The Snarkitecture Commencement Prize, awarded to a graduating student from the School of Architecture or School of Art who demonstrates a committed interest in exploring the peripheries of their discipline in pursuit of the unexpected. Snarkitecture is a collaborative practice established in 2008 by Daniel Arsham A'03, and Alex Mustonen AR'05.

Edwin Sharp Burdell Award, awarded to a member of The Cooper Union community who, during the past year, has done the most to further the mutuality of science and art.

The American Institute of Architects Henry Adams Medal and Certificate of Merit, presented to a graduate who has displayed excellence throughout his/her academic career.

Alpha Rho Chi Medal (National Professional Architectural Fraternity), given to a graduating student who has shown an ability for leadership, who has performed willing service for his or her school or department, and who gives promise of real professional merit.

The Cooper Union Alumni Association Annual Award, awarded to a graduating student for outstanding service to the school.

The Abraham E. Kazan Award for Urban Design, established in 1965 by Co-Op Village in honor of Mr. Kazan, recognized as the father of non-profit cooperative housing programs. This award is given to a graduating student for outstanding performance in urban design.

George Ledlie Prize, awarded to a graduating student selected by the dean.

Peter W. Bruder Memorial Prize, presented to a graduating student for excellence in structures.

Allen N. Goldfischer Memorial Award, established in 2004 and given to a graduating student whose thesis project best explores relationships between humanistic and aesthetic principals in an urban context. 

  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.