Faculty-Student Senate 2016-17

Elected Representatives

Dennis Adams (Art, faculty)
Diana Agrest (Architecture, faculty)
Julie Castelluzzo (Library, librarian)
Dylan Dewald (Architecture,student)
Atina Grossmann (HSS, faculty)
Jacob Jackmauh (Art, student)
Sam Keene* Chair (Engineering, faculty)
Parker Limon (Architecture, student)
James Lowder (Architecture, faculty)
Sanjeev Menon (Engineering, student)
Margaret Morton (Art, faculty)
Jeremiah Pratt* Vice-Chair (Engineering,student)
Sohnya Sayres (HSS, faculty)
Neveen Shlayan (Engineering, faculty)
Carmen Maldonado* Secretary (Arch, Student)

Ex-officio Members

Peter Buckley, acting dean of the Faculty for Humanities and Social Sciences
Mike Essl*, dean of the School of Art
Carol Salomon, director of The Cooper Union library
Laura Sparks, president of The Cooper Union
Barry Shoop, dean of the Albert Nerken School of Engineering
Nader Tehrani, dean of The Irwin S. Chanin School of Architecture

*Officers comprising the Executive Committee

  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.