The National Weather Service has issued an advisory calling for 4 to 6 inches of snow to fall this evening, ending by midnight. At this time, we expect classes to begin on time and administrative offices to open on time on Monday, March 2. We will continue to monitor the weather and its potential impact on the safety of our faculty, staff and students and will update the community as needed. Please use your best judgment, based on your own circumstances, in deciding whether you can travel safely to campus.


People

Chemical Engineering

Irving Brazinsky

Professor of Chemical Engineering
212.353.4373 | brazin@cooper.edu

Shang-I Cheng

Professor Emeritus
sicheng@cooper.edu

Benjamin J. Davis

Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering
(212) 353-4374 | bdavis@cooper.edu

William Hyman

Adjunct Professor of Biomedical Engineering
212-877-0720 | whyman@cooper.edu

Liz Leon

Secretary, Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Departments
212-353-4370 | leon2@cooper.edu

Daniel H. Lepek

Associate Professor of Chemical Engineering
212.353.4379 | lepek@cooper.edu

Dionne Lutz

Technician, The Kanbar Institute for Biomedical Engineering
(212) 353-4326 | dlutz@cooper.edu

Oliver Medvedik

Visiting Assistant Professor and Assistant Director of the Kanbar Center for Biomedical Engineering
medvedik@cooper.edu

O. Charles Okorafor

Professor of Chemical Engineering
212.353.4371 | okoraf@cooper.edu

Richard J. Stock

Professor of Chemical Engineering and Chair
212.353.4317 | stock@cooper.edu

Michael Westbrook

Senior Technician & Shop Supervisor
212-353-4386 | westbr@cooper.edu

  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.