Academic Calendars

The Cooper Union for The Advancement of Science and Art operates within a two semester calendar (fall and spring). Most classes are scheduled Monday through Friday between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m. We offer a limited summer session with courses typically provided in Math, Physics, and Engineering. See building hours for when buildings are open.

See also the 2020–21 calendar

2019 – 2020

Add the 2019 – 2020 academic calendar to your calendar app

Mon, Aug 5 Student bill due date  
Tue, Aug 27 – Tue, Sep 3 Orientation  
Mon, Sep 2 Labor Day Offices and classrooms closed
Tue, Sep 3 Fall 2019 Semester Begins Tuesday Classes Meet
Tue, Sep 10 Fall Festival  
Tue, Sep 3 – Tue, Sep 10 Course adjustment period Students can add/drop courses with advisor assistance
Tue, Sep 10 Course Add/Drop deadline Last day to add/drop courses. Last day to take leave of absence or fully withdraw from School and receive full tuition and fees refund. Advisors and School offices are informed as to how to handle Tuesday evening courses
Wed, Oct 30 Last day to withdraw from courses  
Tue, Nov 19 – Mon, Nov 25 Registration for spring 2020 classes All students must have advisor approval in order to register
Tue, Nov 26 MODIFIED SCHEDULE THURSDAY classes meet
Wed, Nov 27 MODIFIED SCHEDULE FRIDAY classes meet
Thu, Nov 28 – Fri, Nov 29 Thanksgiving Holiday Offices and classrooms closed
Mon, Dec 2 Classes resume  
Thu, Dec 12 – Fri, Dec 13 Study Period No classes
Mon, Dec 16 – Fri, Dec 20 Final classes, crits and exams Students meet in regularly assigned rooms at regular times.
Fri, Dec 20 End of Term Last day of the fall 2019 term
Sat, Dec 21 – Sun, Jan 19 Winter Recess All schools closed. 
Mon, Dec 23 – Fri, Jan 3 Staff Holiday  
Mon, Jan 6 Administrative Offices Re-open All grades due to the Office of the Registrar before noon (12PM)
Mon, Jan 20 Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday Staff Holiday
Tue, Jan 21 Classes  Spring Semester Begins. MONDAY classes meet
Tue, Jan 21 – Tue, Jan 28 Course Adjustment Period Students can add/drop courses with advisor assistance
Tue, Jan 28 Course Add/Drop deadline Last day to take leave of absence or fully withdraw from School and receive full tuition and fees refund. Advisors and School offices are informed as to how to handle Tuesday evening courses
Wed, Feb 12 MODIFIED SCHEDULE FRIDAY classes meet
Fri, Feb 14 – Mon, Feb 17 Founder's Day / Presidents' day Classrooms and offices closed
Sat, Mar 14 – Sun, Mar 22 Spring Recess No classes. Administrative offices remain open
Sat, Mar 14 Outstanding student bills due Holds placed on student records preventing future course registration and/or release of transcript pending payment
Wed, Apr 1 Last day to withdraw from courses  
Tue, Apr 21 – Fri, Apr 24
Course Registration for both Summer 2020 and Fall 2020
Registration into Summer and/or Fall semester courses. All students must have advisor approval in order to register
Thu, May 7 – Fri, May 8 Study Period No classes
Mon, May 11 – Fri, May 15 Final classes, crits and exams Students meet in regularly assigned rooms at regular times.
Fri, May 15 Last day of the Spring 2020 semester  
Mon, May 18 Senior Grades Due Senior grades due to Office of the Registrar before Noon (12 pm)
Wed, May 20 All non-senior grades due All non-senior grades due to Office of the Registrar before noon (12 pm)
Mon, May 25 Memorial Day Classrooms and offices closed
Tue, May 26 Commencement Rehearsal Time TBD
Tue, May 26 End of Year Show Opening The annual student exhibition opening begins at 5 pm
Wed, May 27 Commencement  
Thurs, Jul 2 Independence Day Holiday (Observed) Staff holiday

2020 – 2021

Add the 2020 – 2021 academic calendar to your calendar app

Mon, Aug 3 Student bill due date  
Aug 25 – 30 Orientation  
Mon, Aug 31 Fall 2020 Semester Begins Monday Classes Meet
Aug 31 – 8 Course Adjustment Period Students can add/drop courses with advisor assistance
Mon, Sep 7 Labor Day Offices and Classrooms are closed
Tue, Sep 8 Fall Festival  
Tue, Sep 8 Course Add/Drop deadline Last day to add/drop courses. Last day to take leave of absence or fully withdraw from School and receive full tuition and fees refund.
Mon, Oct 12 Outstanding Student Bills Due and Account Hold Hold placed on student records preventing fruture course registration and/or release of transcript pending payment
Wed, Oct 28 Last Day to withdraw from classes  
Nov 17 – 23 Registration for Spring 2021 classes All students must have advisor approval in order to register
Tue, Nov 24 MODIFIED SCHEDULE THURSDAY classes meet
Wed, Nov 25 MODIFIED SCHEDULE FRIDAY classes meet
Nov 26 – 27 Thanksgiving Holiday Offices and Classrooms are closed
Mon, Nov 30 Classes Resume  
Dec 10 – 11 Study Period No Classes
Dec 14 – 18 Final Classes, crits and exams Students meet in regularly assigned rooms at regular times
Fri, Dec 18 End of Fall term Last day of the fall 2020 term
Dec 21 – Jan 17 Winter Recess All schools closed
Dec 23 – Jan 3 Staff Holiday  
Mon, Jan 4 Administrative Offices Re-open Fall grades due All grades due to the Office of the Registrar before noon (12PM)
Tue, Jan 5 Spring 2021 Bill Due Date  
Mon, Jan 18 Martin Luther King Jr. Birthday Staff Holiday
Tue, Jan 19 Spring 2021 Semester begins Spring semester begins. MONDAY classes meet
Jan 19 – 26 Course Adjustment Period Students can add/drop courses with advisor assistance
Tue, Jan 26 Course Add/Drop Deadline Last day to add/drop courses. Last day to take leave of absence or fully withdraw from School and receive full tuition and fees refund. Advisors and School Offices are informed as to how to handle Tuesday evening courses.
Wed, Feb 10 MODIFIED SCHEDULE FRIDAY classes meet
Fri, Feb 12 Founder's Day Classrooms and office closed
Mon, Feb 15 President's Day Classrooms and office closed
Fri, Mar 12 Outstanding Student Bills Due and Account Hold Hold placed on student records preventing fruture course registration and/or release of transcript pending payment
Mar 13 – 21 Spring Recess No Classes. Administrative offices remain open
Wed, Mar 31 Last Day to withdraw from classes  
Apr 20 – 23 Course Registration for both Summer 2021 and Fall 2021 Registration into Summer and/or Fall semester courses. All students must have advisor approval in order to register
May 6 – 7 Study Period No classes
May 10 – 14 Final classes, crits, and exams Students meet in regularly assigned rooms at regular times
Fri, May 14 End of Spring 2021 Term  
Mon, May 17 Senior Grades due Senior grades due to Office of the Registrar before noon (12PM)
Wed, May 19 All non-senior grades due All non-senior grades due Office of the Registrar before noon (12PM)
Tue, May 25 Commencement Rehersal Time TBD
Tue, May 25 End of Year Show Opening 5 – 9pm
Wed, May 26 Commencement 10:30am – 12pm
Mon, May 31 Memorial Day Classrooms and offices closed
Mon, Jul 5 Independence Day Observed Classrooms and offices closed

 

  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.