Office of the President

July 01, 2015

The twelfth president of The Cooper Union, Jamshed Bharucha, resigned as of June 30, 2015. Speeches and announcements made during his four year tenure can be found here.

In the fall of 2015 the Board of Trustees will convene a search for the next president of The Cooper Union. Until a new president is appointed the Board of Trustees has appointed William Mea, vice president for finance and administration, as acting president. This page will be used to provide information pertaining to the search. Communications from the Board of Trustees will also be sent periodically by email to members of The Cooper Union community with updates concerning the search.


  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.