Degree Requirements: Bachelor of Architecture

The Irwin S. Chanin School of Architecture offers a five-year program leading to the Bachelor of Architecture degree. The requirements are as follows:



* The Bachelor of Architecture curriculum requires 32 credits of required coursework outside in general studies (outside the discipline of architecture). In addition to general studies, students also complete 30 elective credits. The elective component can be fulfilled by elective courses in subject areas such as architecture, humanities and social sciences, visual arts, mathematics, engineering, science and languages. Among the elective credits, at least six elective credits must be completed in humanities and social sciences.  Additionally, a minimum of seven credits must be completed outside of the discipline of architecture for a total of thirteen elective credits in general studies. 


The complete Cooper Union catalog with course descriptions, academic standards, etc., is available online and maintained by the Registrar's office.

View Complete Program Description  >

  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.