People

S

Carl Sable

Associate Professor of Computer Engineering
212.353.4336 | sable2@cooper.edu

Carol A. Salomon

Acting Library Director; Librarian (Engineering / Science / U.S. Governments / Cooper Archive)
212-353-4187 | salomo@cooper.edu

Vincent Salvatoriello

Adjunct Professor
212-353-4292 | vsalvatoriello@gmail.com

Michael Samuelian

Assistant Professor
212-353-4220 | samuel@cooper.edu

Melvin Sandler

Professor Emeritus
eldad@cooper.edu

Julio Santillana

Chief Engineer
212-353-4160 | julios@cooper.edu

Daria Sapienza

Administrative Assistant to the Dean of Engineering
212-353-4285 | daria@cooper.edu

John Sarich

Adjunct Associate Professor
212-353-4273 | jsarich@cooper.edu

Christine Sarkissian

Manager, Rental Programs
212-353-4196 | sarkis@cooper.edu

Gail Satler

Adjunct Professor
212-353-4273 | gsatler@cooper.edu

Ruben Savizky

Associate Professor of Chemistry
212.353.4372 | rsavizky@cooper.edu

Sohnya Sayres

Associate Professor
(212) 353-4217 | sayres@cooper.edu

Robin Beth Schaer

Writing Associate
212-353-4218

Peter Schubert

Professor
212-353-4220

Martha Schulman

Writing Associate and Adjunct Instructor
212-353-4273 | martha@cooper.edu

Markus Schulte

Associate Professor
212-353-4220 | schulte@cooper.edu

Sean Sculley

Professor
212-353-4220 | sculle@cooper.edu

Alexandro Segade

Visiting Artist
212-353-4200 | alexandrosegade@gmail.com

Michelle Segre

Visiting Artist
212-353-4200 | michellesegre@gmail.com

Mary Seto

Payroll Supervisor
212-353-4153 | mseto@cooper.edu

Monica Shapiro

Academic Administrator
212-353-4220 | mshapiro@cooper.edu

Will Shapiro

Instructor
212-353-4220

Omar A. Sharafeddin

Adjunct Professor
omarsharafeddin@yahoo.com

Judith Shea

Adjunct Instructor
212-353-4200 | jshea@nyc.rr.com

Daniel Sherer

Assistant Professor, Visiting
212-353-4220

Sheng Shi

Assistant Professor
212-353-4220 | shis@cooper.edu

Yasuyuki Shibata

Adjunct Professor
(212) 353-4200 | yasu@optonline.net

Rosalyne Shieh

Assistant Professor
212-353-4220

Stanley M. Shinners

Adjunct Professor
212-353-4015

Inessa Shkolnikov

Design Director, Center for Design & Typography
212-353-4213/4210 | inessa@cooper.edu

Jerry Shvadron

Systems Administration Technician
212-353-4007 | shvadron@cooper.edu

George W. Sidebotham

Acting Associate Dean (Fall 2014) and Professor of Mechanical Engineering
212.353.4308 | sidebo@cooper.edu

Helene Silverman

Frank Stanton Chair in Graphic Design
212-353-4200 | helenesilverman@earthlink.net

Mary Simpson

Adjunct Instructor - Film/Video
(212) 353-4200 | simpsome@gmail.com

Rosa Singamenggala

Frankie's Kitchen
212-353-4032

Susan Slome

Adjunct Professor

Robert Smilowitz

Adjunct Professor
212-353-4292 | robert.smilowitz@wai.com

Robert W. Smyth

Associate Professor of Mathematics
212.353.4395 | smyth@cooper.edu

Dax Sommerfeld

Technical Assistant, Art & Architecture Shop
212-353-4234

Erin Sparling

Adjunct Professor
(212) 353-4200

Avra Spector

Writing Associate
212-353-4218

Daniel M. Speyer

Adjunct Professor
212-353-4301

Leonid Srubshchik

Adjunct Professor
lss2@cooper.edu

Erin Stahl

Assistant Director of Admissions
212-353-4272 | estahl@cooper.edu

Maren Stange

Professor (Proportional)
(212) 353-4283 | stange@cooper.edu

Adele Stavish

Interim Human Resources Director
212-353-4156 | stavish@cooper.edu

Michael Stickrod

Technical Assistant, Art & Architecture Shop
212.353.4234 | MichaelStickrod@gmail.com

Mary Stieber

Professor
(212) 353-4394 | stiebe@cooper.edu

Richard J. Stock

Professor of Chemical Engineering and Chair
212.353.4317 | stock@cooper.edu

Sara Jane Stoner

Writing Associate
1-212-353-4218

Sara Jane Stoner

Adjunct Instructor

Wayne Sunday

Library Circulation Clerk (Part Time)
212-353-4188

Brian Swann

Professor
(212) 353-4279 | swann@cooper.edu

Thomas Synnott, III

Adjunct Professor
212-353-4301 | synnott@cooper.edu

  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.