People

Electrical Engineering

Hamid Ahmad

Associate Professor
212-353-4334

Alan D. Berenbaum

Adjunct Professor
berenb@cooper.edu

Bryan Conroy

Adjunct Professor

Toby J. Cumberbatch

Professor of Electrical Engineering
(212) 353-4332 | toby@cooper.edu

Sean Cusack

Adjunct Professor
cusack@cooper.edu

Maureen Deol

Assistant to Chairs, EE, Math, & Physics
(212) 353-4331 | deol@cooper.edu

William Donahue

Adjunct Professor
billy@cooper.edu

Fred L. Fontaine

Jesse Sherman Professor of Electrical Engineering, Chair of Electrical Engineering, Director of the Immigrant Engineer Retraining Program
212.353.4335 | fred@cooper.edu

Jeff Hakner

Assistant Director of Telecommunications & Adjunct Professor
212-353-4353 | hak@cooper.edu

Lawrence S. Hausman

Adjunct Professor
hausma@cooper.edu

Timothy R. Hoerning

Adjunct Professor
hoerni@cooper.edu

Neil Jackman

Adjunct Professor
212-353-4015

Sam Keene

Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering
212.353.4331 | keene@cooper.edu

Stuart Kirtman

Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering
212.353.4339 | sek@cooper.edu

Ralph L. Knapp

Professor Emeritus

Ian J. Kremenic

Adjunct Professor
ian@nismat.org

Robert Marano

Adjunct Professor
rob@cooper.edu

Aladino Melendez

EE Supervisor, EE Technician
212-353-4346 | dinom@cooper.edu

Yashodhan C. Risbud

Director C.V.Starr Research Foundation, Adjunct Professor
212.353.4307 | risbud@cooper.edu

Carl Sable

Associate Professor of Computer Engineering
212.353.4336 | sable2@cooper.edu

Stanley M. Shinners

Adjunct Professor
212-353-4015

Nina Tandon

Adjunct Professor

Steven Ungar

Adjunct Professor
212-353-4015 | ungar@cooper.edu

Yi Wang

Adjunct Professor

  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.