People

A

Mitra Abbaspour

Adjunct Instructor
212-353-4200 | mitramonir@gmail.com

Haitham Abdullah

Adjunct Assistant Professor
212.353.4273 | abdull@cooper.edu

Dennis Adams

Professor
212.353.4027 | dadams@cooper.edu

Wayne Adams

Network Administrator / Senior Academic Support Specialist: Computer Studio, Dept. of IT
212.353.4216 | wadams@cooper.edu

Om Agrawal

Professor and Chair of Mathematics
212.353.4311 | om@cooper.edu

Diana Agrest

Professor
212.353.4220 | agrest@cooper.edu

Jameel Ahmad

George Fox Professor and Chairman of Civil Engineering
212.353.4294 | ahmad@cooper.edu

Zinoviy Akkerman

Adjunct Professor
212.353.4320 | zakkerman@aol.com

David Allin

Assistant Professor
212.353.4220 | dallin@cooper.edu

Betsy Alwin

Adjunct Professor and Technical Assistant, Art & Architecture Shop
212.353.4234 | alwin@hotmail.com

Leyla Amzi-Erdoduglar

Adjunct Assistant Professor

Samuel Anderson

Professor
212.353.4220 | anderson@cooper.edu

Albert Appleton

Adjunct Associate Professor
212.353.4273 | appleton@cooper.edu

Albert Appleton

Senior Fellow with the Institute for Sustainble Design

Eve Armstrong

Adjunct Instructor
212.353.4200 | earmstrong@physics.ucsd.edu

Andrew Arnold

Managing Editor, Department of Public Affairs
212.353.4169 | aarnold@cooper.edu

Doug Ashford

Associate Professor (Proportional-Time)
212.353.4200 | dashfordd@gmail.com

Dore Ashton

Professor
212.353.4284

Tulay Atak

Associate Professor
212.353.4220 | tatak@cooper.edu

Pep Aviles

Assistant Professor
212.353.4220 | aviles@cooper.edu

Dorit Aviv

Instructor
212.353.4220 | aviv@cooper.edu

  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.