People

Mechanical Engineering

Melody Baglione

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering
212.353.4295 | melody@cooper.edu

Michael Bambino

Adjunct Instructor

Robert Barrett

Adjunct Professor
212.353.4292 | barrett@cooper.edu

Scott N. Bondi

Adjunct Professor
sbondi@cooper.edu

Wallace Chinitz

Professor Emeritus

George J. Delagrammatikas

Acting Associate Dean and Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering (sabbatical leave: Fall 2014)
(212) 353-4293 | georged@cooper.edu

Robert Dell

Director, Center for Innovation and Applied Technology, Adjunct Professor, C.V. Starr Research Foundation Research Fellow
212-353-4298 | rdell@cooper.edu

Lembit Kutt

Adjunct Professor
212-353-4301 | kutt@cooper.edu

Eric Lima

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Director The Open-Source Hardware Laboratory
212.353.4029 | lima2@cooper.edu

Dirk Luchtenburg

Postdoctoral Research Fellow
dluchten@cooper.edu

Haiyan Luo

Post Doctoral Research Fellow
212-353-4285 | hluo@cooper.edu

Ericson Mar

Adjunct Professor
mar@cooper.edu

Karl Orishimo

Adjunct Professor

Jorge Ortega

Lab Manager
212-353-4330 | ortega@cooper.edu

Katherine M. Panchyk

Adjunct Professor
212-353-4292

George W. Sidebotham

Acting Associate Dean (Fall 2014) and Professor of Mechanical Engineering
212.353.4308 | sidebo@cooper.edu

Daniel M. Speyer

Adjunct Professor
212-353-4301

Thomas Synnott, III

Adjunct Professor
212-353-4301 | synnott@cooper.edu

Chih-Shing (Stan) Wei

George Clark Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Chair
212.353.4299 | swei@cooper.edu

David M. Wootton

Professor of Mechanical Engineering
212.353.4393 | wootton@cooper.edu

Hui (Grace) Yu

Adjunct Professor

Brian Yudin

ME Design Studio Technician
byudin@cooper.edu

  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.