People

Civil Engineering

Jameel Ahmad

George Fox Professor and Chairman of Civil Engineering
212.353.4294 | ahmad@cooper.edu

Joseph C. Cataldo

Professor of Civil Engineering, PE
(212) 353-4300 | catald@cooper.edu

Dong Chang

Adjunct Professor
212-353-4292 | DChang@perini.com

Vito A. Guido

Professor of Civil Engineering, PE
212.353.4304 | guido@cooper.edu

Adam Hapij

Adjunct Professor
212-353-4292 | adam.hapij@wai.com

Maria Jimenez

Secretary
212-353-4292 | jimenez@cooper.edu

Lawrence Lennon

Adjunct Professor
212-353-4292 | lennon@pbworld.com

Tom Panayotidi

Adjunct Professor
212-353-4292 | tompanayotidi@aol.com

Vincent Salvatoriello

Adjunct Professor
212-353-4292 | vsalvatoriello@gmail.com

Robert Smilowitz

Adjunct Professor
212-353-4292 | robert.smilowitz@wai.com

Cosmas Tzavelis

Professor of Civil Engineering
212.353.4297 | tzavelis@cooper.edu

Luis Vega

Technician
212-353-4260 | vega@cooper.edu

Joseph Viola

Adjunct Professor
212-353-4292 | jviola@cooper.edu

Constantine Yapijakis

Professor of Civil Engineering
212.353.4296 | yapi@cooper.edu

  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.