Lawrence Cacciatore
Chief of Staff and Secretary to the Board of Trustees

Saskia Bos
Dean, School of Art

William Germano
Dean, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

Justin Harmon
Vice President for Communications

Christopher Chamberlin
Dean of Students

Mitchell Lipton
Vice President of Enrollment Services and Dean of Admissions

Nader Tehrani
Dean, The Irwin S. Chanin School of Architecture

William Mea
Vice President - Finance and Administration

  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.