School of Art Tours and Events

The Foundation Building of The Cooper Union

The Foundation Building of The Cooper Union

While our campus is closed in response to the COVID-19 virus, we are still available at admissions@cooper.edu. Please complete this form so we may stay in touch, and please follow us on InstagramLet's stay connected! 

The School of Art hosts small, student led weekly tours for prospective art students. Space is limited to 15 and registration is required. Please Note, weekly tours do not include a portfolio review. Portfolio reviews can only be done at one of our Open House events or at participating National Portfolio Day events. 

Please join our mailing list so we can be in touch once our virtual tour is live and our registration for guided tours is open. You can also check here for updates. 

National Portfolio Review Day Events

If you cannot attend an Art Open House on campus, the School of Art participates in select National Portfolio Review Day events nationwide. This year the School of Art will be virtually attending the below events. Please note, these events are first come, first serve and you must register with the host schools. Please visit nationalportfolioday.org for more information.

Fall 2020

Saturday, September 19, 12:00 – 4:00 pm EST

  • Atlanta
  • New Orleans 
  • Memphis 
  • Nashville 

Saturday, September 26, 11:00 am – 3:00 pm CST

  • Indiana 
  • St. Louis  
  • Kansas City 
  • Ames, Iowa 

Saturday, October 3, 10:00 am – 2:00 pm MST

  • Denver 
  • Minneapolis 

Sunday, October 4, 12:00 – 4:00 pm EST

  • Hartford  
  • Boston 

Saturday, October 10, 11:00 am – 3:00 pm CST

  • Houston  
  • Dallas 
  • Phoenix 
  • Albuquerque 

Sunday, October 18, 11:00 am – 3 pm CST

  • Milwaukee 
  • Chicago

Saturday, October 24, 12:00 – 4:00 pm EST

  • New York City 
  • Philadelphia 
  • Toronto 
  • Upstate (Syracuse) NY 

Sunday, November 1, 12:00 pm – 4:00 pm EST

  • Washington DC 
  • Baltimore 
  • Richmond 
  • Charlotte 

Sunday, November 8, 12:00 pm – 4:00 pm EST

  • West Michigan/Grand Rapids 
  • East Michigan/Ann Arbor

Sunday, November 15, 9:00 am – 1:00 pm PST

  • Seattle 
  • Portland 
  • Vancouver 
  • SoCal/ LA 

Saturday, November 21, 12:00 pm – 4:00 EST

  • Cincinnati
  • Columbus 

Sunday, November 22, 12:00 – 4:00 pm EST

  • Paris 
  • Florence

Saturday, December 5, 12:00 pm – 4:00 EST

  • Miami 
  • Sarasota 
  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.