Visiting Artists, Critics & Curators

Sol'Sax Sol'Sax is a graduate of the Cooper Union. In 2004 he received the prestigious Guggenheim Fellowship. He lives and works in Bushwick. solsax.com
Zhang Hong-Tu Zhang Hong-Tu is a Chinese-born New York-based artist whose work has been shown through out the world. His mixed media conceptual paintings challenge notions of high and low art. momao.com
Jeffrey Gibson Jeffrey Gibson is a painter and sculptor. He has worked with Outreach as both an instructor and Faculty Advisor. His work has been exhibited at the Aldrich Museum, The Museum of the American Indian, and the Kentler International Drawing Space. jeffreygibson.net
Mario Naves Mario Naves is an artist and an art critic for the New York Observer. He has taught at the Pratt Institute, Brooklyn College, and the Ringling School of Art. He represented by Elizabeth Harris Gallery. mnaves.wordpress.com
Roberto Visani Roberto Visani is a sculptor who has had numerous exhibitions at venues such as the Studio Museum in Harlem, Sculpture Center, and Yerba Buena Center for the Arts in San Francisco. In 1997 he was the recipient of a Fullbright Grant to study in Ghana. robertovisani.com
Jeremy Dine http://www.studio339.com/artist/jeremiah-dine
Eozen Agupian eozen-agopian.info/eozen
Chitra Ganesh chitraganesh.com
Joe Vinson joevinson.com
Leonardo Castaneda leonardocastaneda.com/www.leonardocastaneda.com.indexflip.html
Caroline Woolard carolinewoolard.com
Christopher Gianunzio christopher-gianunzio.com
Florian Brozek lorianbrozek.com
James Prosek troutsite.com
Lorenzo Clayton iaia.edu/museum/vision-project/artists/lorenzo-clayton/
Virginia Poundstone virginiapoundstone.com
Sarah Vanderbeek saatchigallery.com/artists/sara_vanderbeek.htm
Katherine Gilmore kategilmore.com
David Brooks americancontemporary.biz/artists/david-brooks
Rune Olsen runeolsen.net

 

 

Follow us on      

  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.