Contact & Location

The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art is situated on the edge of Manhattan's East Village, easy walking distance of Washington Square Park and the bookstores, galleries and film houses of Greenwich Village.

Campus Locations

Campus Information

The Foundation Building
7 East 7th Street
between Third & Fourth Avenues
View Map

41 Cooper Square
Third Avenue between 6th & 7th Streets
View Map

Administrative Offices
30 Cooper Square
Fourth Avenue between 5th & 6th Streets
View Map

Residence Hall
29 Third Avenue
View Map

Stuyvesant Fish House
21 Stuyvesant Street
View Map


Building Hours

While classes are in session, the regular hours of operation for the Foundation Building and 41 Cooper Square are:

Monday - Thursday
Friday and Saturday
Sunday
7:30am - 2am
7:30am - 12am
12pm - 2am

Check with individual offices, shops, and labs for their respective open hours.
CLICK HERE for a complete listing of holiday closures, summer hours, and other exceptions to regular building hours.

 

Department and School Contact Information

The following e-mail addresses and telephone numbers will allow you to reach directly various departments and schools at the Cooper Union. Due to privacy and security issues, the Cooper Union Web site does not have a directory for individual faculty, staff or student body members.

Admissionsadmissions@cooper.edu(212) 353-4120
Alumni Affairs(212) 353-4164
Architecture, School ofarchitecture@cooper.edu(212) 353-4220
Art, School ofartschool@cooper.edu(212) 353-4200
Athleticsbaker@cooper.edu(212) 353-4131
Career Servicescareer@cooper.edu(212) 353-4130
Communicationscommunications@cooper.edu(212) 353-4266
Developmentywong@cooper.edu(212) 353-4163
Engineering, School ofengineering@cooper.edu(212) 353-4285
Financial Aidfinancialaid@cooper.edu(212) 353-4130
Librarysalomo@cooper.edu(212) 353-4186
News & Tipsnews-tips@cooper.edu 
Web Site Comments and Suggestionswebmaster@cooper.edu 
 

 

  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.