THE COOPER UNION MEETING OF THE FACULTY-STUDENT SENATE

MINUTES

Tuesday, October 4, 2011 12-2pm Benjamin Menschel Board Room

Present:

Faculty and Library Representatives: Jameel Ahmad, Mike Essl, Anne Griffin, Atina Grossmann, Sharon Hayes, Daniel Lepek, Thomas Micchelli, Sean Sculley

Student Representatives: Caitlin Correll, Jenny Eagleton, Kevin Lee, Alex Velozo

Ex-Officio Members: President Jamshed Bharucha, Dean Saskia Bos. Dean William Germano, Acting Library Director Carol Solomon, Vice President TC Westcott

The meeting was called to order at 12:07pm.

MINUTES

Revisions are solicited. No changes made. A motion was made and seconded to accept the minutes as amended. Motion passed. (10 in favor, 0 opposed)

Chair Tom Micchelli welcomes President Jamshed Bharucha. Chair Tom Micchelli welcomes new Senate members Kevin Lee, Engineering, Jenny Eagleton, School of Art, Acting Director of the Library Carol Solomon.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Sharon Hayes nominated to the position of Secretary. Nomination seconded. Hayes is elected Secretary. (9 in favor, 0 opposed)

Anne Griffin nominated to the position of Vice Chair. Nomination seconded. Griffin elected Vice Chair. (9 in favor, 0 opposed)

Thomas Micchelli nominated to position of Chair. Nomination seconded. Micchelli elected Chair. (9 in favor, 0 opposed)

INSTITUTIONAL BUDGET

Vice President TC Westcott presented Cooper Union's institutional budget. Cooper Union's operating budget, debt obligations and revenue base were discussed. Creative ideas to cut costs and raise revenues were offered. Chair Micchelli suggested creating a Financial Committee of the Faculty-Student Senate. It is decided to call two additional meetings of the Faculty-Student Senate for the purpose of meeting with President Bharucha and further brainstorming about revenue generating programs and/or initiatives.

These meetings called for Friday, October 28 and Thursday, November 10.

Meeting adjourned at 2:02pm

Storm A. Hayer

Respectfully submitted,

Sharon Hayes