# THE COOPER UNION MEETING OF THE FACULTY-STUDENT SENATE

#### **MINUTES**

Thursday, April 19, 2011 12:00-2:00pm Room LL101, 41 Cooper Square

#### Present:

**Faculty and Library Representatives**: Diana Agrest, Jameel Ahmad, Mike Essl, Anne Griffin, Atina Grossmann, Sharon Hayes, Daniel Lepek, Thomas Micchelli, Sean Sculley

**Student Representatives**: Rachel Appel, Caitlin Correll, Matthew Wieder, Jesus Yepez

**Ex-Officio Members**: President George Campbell, Vice President TC Westcott, Library Director Ulla Volk, Lawrence Cacciatore, Dean William Germano, Associate Dean Steven Lam

The meeting was called to order at 12:07 pm.

### **MINUTES**

Revisions are solicited and changes made. A motion was made and seconded to accept the minutes as amended. Motion passed. (13 in favor, 0 opposed)

### **BYLAWS AND CHARTER**

Chair Micchelli congratulated the Senate on the unanimous approval of the Bylaws and Charter by the Cooper Union Board of Trustees.

#### **ELECTION OF OFFICERS**

Because the current Senate officers were elected before the Bylaws and Charter were approved, an election had to be held under the newly established procedures.

Chair Micchelli, Vice-Chair Griffin and Secretary Hayes were all elected to their current posts.

## **ELECTION PROCESS FOR ALTERNATES**

Because Alternate Representatives are now required by the Bylaws, the process regarding their election was clarified and discussed.

In order to align the Faculty/Librarian Alternates' terms of office with the current Senators, it was moved and approved that the Alternates elected for the 2011/2012 academic year would serve for one year. Starting with the 2012/2013 academic year, the Faculty Alternates would serve for two years, which is concurrent with the Senate terms.

#### SCHEDULE OF MEETINGS, 2011-2012

In order to facilitate full attendance at Senate meetings, the schedule for academic year 2011/2012 was set in advance. All meetings will be on Tuesdays from noon to 2:00 pm on the following dates:

Oct. 4, 2011 Nov. 29, 2011 Feb. 7, 2012 Apr. 3, 2012

## **AGENDA ITEMS, 2011-2012**

A number of topics were discussed as priorities for the upcoming academic year. These included:

- Class scheduling
- Honor code / Academic integrity
- Cross-disciplinary studies / Curricular collaboration
- Distribution of students from all 3 schools in HSS classes
- Student stress
- Information literacy

## PRESIDENT CAMPBELL

A resolution was introduced, moved and approved to thank retiring President George Campbell for his stewardship of The Cooper Union and his role in reviving the Faculty-Student Senate.

Meeting adjourned at 1:59 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Stown A. Hayer

Sharon Hayes