

Office of the President

November 1, 2010

The Cooper Union for the Advancement

for the Advancement of Science and Art

Cooper Square New York NY 10003-7120 T 212.353.4240 F 212.353.4244 www.cooper.edu To: Members of the Faculty and Student Senate

From: George Campbell

Subject: Inaugural Meeting Schedule

The first meeting of the Faculty Student Senate will be held as follows:

Date: November 17th, 2010

Time: 1:30 p.m.

Location: Benjamin Menschel Board Room, 41 Cooper Square (LL101)

Background

Over the past academic year I explored with various internal constituents, including the Cooper Union Federation of College Teachers (CUFCT) reactivation of the Faculty-Student Senate at The Cooper Union, and there has been considerable interest throughout the college in doing so. As is typical at institutions of higher education, the Senate is structured as an advisory and consultative body to the President, and considers matters that affect attainment of the institution's educational mission. With the growing complexity of our academic enterprise, there are cross-cutting and institution-wide issues that would benefit from expanded input, followed by careful deliberation and broad consensus building. Issues that are purely academic in nature or that raise educational policy questions may not fall within the general rubric of "terms and conditions of employment." These are, therefore, outside of the purview of the bargaining units. In addition to improved decision-making and more effective governance, the existence of a college-wide Senate could improve the dissemination of accurate information and the quality of communications across the college.

Currently, there are inconsistencies in the various faculty governances and the CUFCT contract regarding the Faculty-Student Senate that would need to be resolved. Many institutions have expanded the concept of a faculty-student senate to a university or college senate, and there is interest at Cooper Union in this more inclusive structure, with representation from administrative departments as well as from the faculty and student body. Based on my initial discussions with the CUFCT leadership and others, I have decided to convene the Faculty-Student Senate as it is currently defined in the contract.

Specifically, the Faculty-Student Senate is comprised of two senators from each of the Schools (the contract specifies that, for Art and Architecture, at least one senator must be a full-time faculty member), two from the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, one full-time librarian and two students from each of the Schools. The President is currently designated chair of the Senate.

Elected representatives to the Faculty Senate are:

Albert Nerken School of Engineering Senators Professor Jameel Ahmad (CE) Professor Daniel Lepek (ChE)

<u>Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences Senators</u> Professor Anne Griffin Professor Attina Grossman

School of Art Senators Professor Mike Essl Professor Sharon Hayes

Irwin S. Chanin School of Architecture Senators Professor Sean Sculley (Name of second senator TBA)

Elected representatives to the Student Senate are:

- Art Gabby D'Angelo Morgan Vo
- Architecture
 Jesus Yepez
 Stephanie Yeung
- Engineering
 Andrew Crudge
 Matt Weider

At the first meeting, the Faculty-Student Senate will be asked to elect a chairperson from its membership and to develop a plan for reconciling the faculty governances and the CUFCT contract to create a college wide Senate, which will be known as "The Cooper Union Senate." A constitution and bylaws must also be developed. The new plan, along with consequential modifications of the governances would then need to be approved by the Board of Trustees of The Cooper Union.

Congratulations on your election to the Faculty-Student Senate. I very much look forward to working with you to establish a highly effective structure for engaging the Cooper Union community in advancing the college's mission.